September/October 2014 Ecocentric Mom “Mom-to-Be” Review


My Ecocentric Mom “Mom-to-Be” box arrived this past week – here’s what was inside!

THE BOX:

SubBoxesSept14-2 007

THE COST:

Ecocentric Mom costs $24 every-other month.  They offer a “Mom” box, a “Mom-to-Be” box, and a “Baby” box!  Right now I am subscribed for the “mom-to-be” but if I hold onto this subscription, I will switch to “baby” closer to the due date!

Their boxes ship in January, March, May, July, September & November.

THE GOODS:

 SubBoxesSept14-2 010

Arora Creations “Bhindi Masala” Spice Blend – 0.5 oz – $3.99

This product is a mix of turmeric, red pepper, ground coriander, ground cumin, salt and other seasonings.  I’m not quite sure if it sounds good or not to be honest!  But we do have lots of green beans from the garden this year, so will have to give it a try!

Bakery on Main Instant Oatmeal – 1.75 oz – $1

I’m not a huge oatmeal person, but I definitely enjoy it when it’s cold out or when I’m not feeling the best – and I have to say that this flavor “maple muffin” sounds pretty tasty!

Annie’s Organic Cheddar Snack Mix Bunnies – 1 oz – ~$0.60

I love Annie’s products and this snack mix is right up there as one of my favorites!  Consider this demolished!

SubBoxesSept14-2 012

Salon Solids Conditioner – 2 oz – $3

This product is pretty neat – it’s basically a bottle with granules in it and you add your own water to make the conditioner.  That being said, I’m not entirely certain why this is better then a premixed conditioner, except perhaps lower shipping costs?? Curious to see how well it works though!

Jillian Wright “Breakout Blocker” Serum – 3 ml – ~$7.75

Wow – this is a pretty expensive product!  That always scares me a little, because if I really like it, I still won’t buy it… Nevertheless, this item is supposed to help control bacteria.

7th Heaven Natural Skin Mask Moroccan Clay – 1 mask – $2.99

I seem to have received a lot of masks through subscription boxes, and I’m still not very good at using them.  This will get added to the pile and probably get used at some point!

SubBoxesSept14-2 014

The Organic Face “Femme Fatale” Eye Shadow Quad in Mesa – full size! – $25

Ah – the inevitable downfall with eye shadow quads – I love two of the colors, and will never use the other two!  Not sure if I will end up using this for that reason or swapping to someone that can hopefully utilize the entire product!

PureProC Silk Smoothing Gel and Hydrating Serum – 0.08 oz / 0.1 oz – $13+ $6 = $19

Again – another product that the full retail is just too high for me to ever really enjoy using this… I’m not huge on serum type products either – so will likely just end up swapping this.

WooBamboo Slim Handle Bamboo Toothbrush – $4.95

Well I’m glad that they sent a “slim” and “soft” bristle version.  I guess a toothbrush is a toothbrush?? I always end up buying the same one at the store, but perhaps I’ll try this to see how I like it!

SubBoxesSept14-2 015

Duck and Goose Find a Pumpkin Book – $6.29

Ah – this book is MUCH better then the previous book I received from Ecocentric Mom!!  It’s actually pretty cute!

THE VERDICT:

I paid $24 for my Ecocentric Mom “Mom-to-Be” box and received approximately $74 worth of product!  A few misses for me, but I LOVE the mix of different types of products (food, makeup, tools, etc.)!  I do wish there would have been more than one baby item, but overall pretty impressed!!

Leave a Reply

