May 2014 Birchbox Review


My May 2014 Birchbox was part of my Subscription Box Saturday!  Here’s what was inside:

THE BOX:

(I got box #34 – how do you tell?  Log in to birchbox and scroll down to the box history, click the link and the last one or two digits (https://www.birchbox.com/shop/birchbox-1/may-2015/may-2014-bb34) are the box number – you can see all of the other boxes by changing this number!)

 SubBoxSat 004

THE COST:

$10/Month with month-by-month 

or $9.17/Month with annual subscription ($110 – one month free!) 

THE GOODS:

SubBoxSat 005

No. 4 Volumizing Shampoo – 1 oz – $4.12

No. 4 Volumizing Conditioner – 0.25 oz – $1.06

Alright – why for the love of Pete would you send a 1 oz shampoo and a 0.25 oz conditioner?!  Am I the only person in the world that seems to burn through conditioner way faster then shampoo?? If anything, it should have been the other way around!  Sheesh…

That rant being over – I’m always up for new shampoo/conditioner samples!  The No. 4 brand is vegan, gluten free, sulfate & sodium chloride free, and paraben free also!

Whish Shave Cream – 0.75 fl oz – $2.93

The Whish brand is paraben, sulfate, DEA, TEA, and Petrochemical free!  I received a lotion sample awhile back and loved it – so super excited to give this a try!  Shave Cream is one of those products that I haven’t found “the one” yet in natural products.  I do like EOS shave cream – but seem to go through the bottle WAY too fast (and it’s impossible to get the last 1/4 out without some serious strategy!)  Maybe if they did a redesign?

SubBoxSat 007

CoTZ Face Mineral Sunscreen – 2 g – $0.94

This product claims to be “free of harsh chemicals, oils, and fragrances” but doesn’t really give a breakout of what it does or does not contain.  Nevertheless I will still use this in the summertime!  I can never get enough sunscreen (my skin hates the sun – LOL!)

Smarty Pants Gummies – 2 gummies – $0.33

haha yeah – these are already gone.  I have a weakness for gummies – and they are good for me?  Yes, please!  I know better then to buy a bottle of these though – I’d probably eat them like candy…

LAQA & Co Sheer Lip Lube Pencil in Menatour (purple) – 0.07 oz (FULL SIZE)! – $18

WOW!  I can’t believe the value of this item.  I like quadruple checked the website versus the product though – and yep, appears to be legit!  That being said – me + purple = no good, so will end up swapping this, but what a great added value to the box!

THE VERDICT:

I estimate the value of my May 2014 Birchbox at approximately $27!!  Way to hit it out of the park Birchbox!  I was a little disappointed after last month’s box – but LOVE this one!  Especially since the products seem to be lending more towards paraben and sulfate free!  Granted the highest value item isn’t quite for me, but that’s not their fault!  So glad I held onto this subscription! 🙂

What did you get in your May 2014 Birchbox?

Note: This post contains referral links!

3 thoughts on “May 2014 Birchbox Review

Leave a Reply

