April 2014 Eco Emi Review


My April 2014 Eco Emi box also showed up in the mail today, here’s what was inside:

THE BOX:

 PopResandEEApr14 015

PopResandEEApr14 017

THE COST:

Eco Emi recently updated their subscription options – they are now:

$15/month for month by month
$14/month for 3 month subscription
$13/month for 6 month subscription
$12/month for 12 month subscription

THE GOODS:

PopResandEEApr14 018

Natural Vegan Lavendar Eye Makeup Remover by HomespunNorthwest – 3 oz – $6

I am excited to give this a try – also stalking HomespunNorthwest’s shop on Etsy!  I LOVE how Eco Emi finds these shops for me 🙂

Earth Day Flower Seed Packet by RamblinRiver – 1 packet – $2.50

I only wish I would have gotten a different flower then sunflowers… but will probably find a place to plant these anyway!

Vegan Edible Love Dust in Cocoa Sparkle by All Natural Face – 10 gFull Size – $3.3310 – Thanks CBIANCARDI!

Yeah, don’t think I’ll be giving this a try (in either the eating or wearing department!)

PopResandEEApr14 019

Ultra Care Toothpaste – Mega Mint by Desert Essence – 0.05 oz – $0.06

Whitening Plus Toothpaste – Cool Mint by Desert Essence – 0.05 oz – $0.06

Well – I am excited to give these samples a try.  I do wish they were a LITTLE bigger though!

Honey Organic Stinger Waffle by Honey Stinger – 1 waffle – $1.39

I love that Eco Emi sends out more then just beauty products!  These aren’t rated very well at REI (3 stars), but will give it a shot! Update – these are actually rated 4 stars at REI. Thanks CBIANCARDI!

PopResandEEApr14 020

Tropical Liquid Drink Mix by Organic Flavrz – 1 mix – $1.17

ooOO!  Can’t wait to give this a shot – totally taking to work tomorrow to mix in with my water!

Fortune Cookie Soap Bath Fizzy – 1 fiz – $2.48

I have many bath items laying around – but I love them all!  I think I just need to take more time to take baths!

THE VERDICT:

Overall, I calculate my Eco Emi April 2014 Box to be worth ~$1723.  I DO love my Eco Emi box, but I wish the values were just a little higher…  I’m contemplating cancelling or upgrading to the annual subscription!  ha!  Talk about a swing in emotions there… but the boxes are only $12/month if I upgrade…  BUT if I cancel, I can give another subscription box a shot (been eyeing either Petit Vour or Goodebox).  What’s the crowd opinion?  I need help deciding!

16 thoughts on “April 2014 Eco Emi Review

  1. I can see why you’re unsure of what to do after this box. Personally, I don’t think I would commit to the annual subscription. I’m mainly looking for skincare/cosmetics in my boxes, so I would give Petit Vour or Goodebox a try, which look good by the way! Maybe see what you get in your next Eco Emi box before deciding?

    • haha I feel like I’ve been on the fence for quite awhile! I think my favorite box of theirs was the bonus box I received in December – which I could get again if they do it this year, without committing to the monthly subscription! Thanks for talking this through with me – now to just decide which box I want to go with… hm…

  2. I just subscribed to goodebox a few months ago. So far I am loving it! I have had eco emi in the past and while I do enjoy them I feel like goodebox tends to be a higher value. I would def. recommend checking them out!

    • Thanks Kayla! I think I’m leaning towards that one! I will miss the variety that Eco Emi has with more then just beauty products though, but feel like I lose if I don’t love absolutely everything in the box due to the value :-/

  3. I actually loved this month’s box!! The Love Dust is full size and is $10.00, not 3.33. I will actually use it for the upcoming summer months – it is is just a body powder with a shimmer. I felt this month’s box was so much better than the last few months. Eco Emi is the only sub that I have that actually showcases etsy vendors, and I am happy about that. For some strange reason, eco emi is the only sub that I do not compare the amount of money spent (15.00) to its actual box value, because I do feel they are going out of their way to find unique and interesting products with different vendors. But that is just my 2 cents!

  4. I have the same feelings about whether to go with the annual box or try another box. I did goodebox for one month and was a little underwhelmed. I do want to try petie vour though! Decisions decisions… if only I had a larger sub budget!

  5. I used to subscribe to Eco Emi and I liked it bit I thought that alot of the same brands were sent each month. There has been alot of the All Natural Face items sent. I decided to try Petite Vour and have been really happy with it. The sample sizes tend to be bigger and the value tends to be higher.

    • Ah – I decided to go with Goodebox, but if it doesn’t work out, I totally plan on trying Petit Vour! If only I could afford to try them both at the same time…

    • Hi Katrina – wondering if you have a referral link to Petite Vour? I’m still contemplating signing up (especially after seeing the April box reviews!!!) No promises, but if I do sign up, I’d like to give you credit for it! Let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

