March 2014 Homegrown Collective Review


We received our March 2014 Homegrown Collective this past week (I think Wednesday?) and here’s what was inside:

THE BOX:

This month’s theme is “Slice o’ Cheese”

HGCMar14 002

THE COST:

Month to Month: $39 plus $9 shipping
3 Months: $117 plus $9/month shipping (no savings)
6 Months: $234 plus Free Shipping!
12 Months: $429 plus Free Shipping! (one month free)

THE GOODS:

HGCMar14 003HGCMar14 004

The first task is DIY Sharpening Skills.  I’m actually quite glad they put such attention to safety!  But nevertheless, I will be letting the Husband take on this one (he will likely scoff at the gloves and glasses – but I’m sure we’ll find other uses for them!)

HGCMar14 006HGCMar14 008

And the second (and last) task is to make Mozzarella Cheese!  We have made a few different cheeses, but actually never tried mozzarella (and were just saying the other day that we really need to make cheese again – so happy to get the push!)  MMM.. I LOVE fresh Mozzarella!

THE VERDICT:

I really liked this month’s Homegrown Collective Greenbox!  However, this was the last box in our 6 month subscription (note the 6 month subscription is not auto-renewing, I had to email to find out for sure!), and while I LOVE the service, we just don’t seem to have time to get to making the items (have had more then one thing go bad on us…)  I’m thinking we will take this summer off for sure and evaluate how we feel this fall after a break!

I did not assign a value to the items in this box, as I am not even certain the correct way to do so.  The box is so well curated that I DEFINITELY feel that it was worth the $39!!  Could I have gone out and purchased the individual items separately for less money?  Probably, but there’s no way I would have come close to joy of opening such a well thought out box!

Leave a Reply

