January 2014 Homegrown Collective Review


I received my January 2014 Homegrown Collective the other day, here’s what was inside:

THE BOX:

This month’s theme is “DIY Detoxify: inside & out”

Feb14HCGandBBMreview 023

THE COST:

Month to Month: $39 plus $9 shipping
3 Months: $117 plus $9/month shipping (no savings)
6 Months: $234 plus Free Shipping!
12 Months: $429 plus Free Shipping! (one month free)

THE GOODS:

Feb14HCGandBBMreview 020

Unfortunately the first thing I found when opening the box was a broken jar 😦  I emailed Homegrown Collective and they are shipping out a new one on Monday for me!  This is the first time that I have had a broken item in my box (despite all of the glass they ship) and have to say I’m impressed with the prompt customer service and reaction.

Feb14HCGandBBMreview 024Feb14HCGandBBMreview 027

The first item is Dandelion Leaf Herbal Tea.  I’m not sure how excited I am about this but will give it a shot!

Feb14HCGandBBMreview 025Feb14HCGandBBMreview 028

Oh my goodness I’m excited to make these!! I’ve wondered what it takes to make “bath bombs” and these sound similar; however it is the items placed in the satchel instead of a ball – we’ll see how it goes! (Jar re-pictured from above – I should have received two)

Feb14HCGandBBMreview 026Feb14HCGandBBMreview 029

The last item in the box was to make Bentonite Clay and Rosewater Mask.  Essentially you mix the clay with water and apply to your face, then mist with the rose water mixture.  Huh – sounds messy… LOL

THE VERDICT:

I’m definitely on board with the theme of this month’s Homegrown Collective Greenbox and cannot wait to make/try the items in this box (even though I am a little skeptical on a few!)

I did not assign a value to the items in this box, as I am not even certain the correct way to do so.  The box is so well curated that I DEFINITELY feel that it was worth the $39!!  Could I have gone out and purchased the individual items separately for less money?  Probably, but there’s no way I would have come close to joy of opening such a well thought out box!

Leave a Reply

