December 2013 Ipsy Review


My first Ipsy arrived the other day – here’s what was inside:

The Box:

001

The Cost:

Ipsy costs $10 per month.

The Goods:

017

I LOVE the little makeup bag that they sent!!! This is honestly my favorite thing I got from Ipsy this month!  Not sure the value of the bag?  I’ll call it $5.

Mirabella Eye Blender – $27

This seems like a nice brush (heavy handle)!  I am a little stuck on eco tools brushes, but may find a use for this.

009

Nicka K Nail Polish in Classic Taupe – FULL SIZE – $5

I am honest not in love with this color – it’s just off for me.  I’ll give it a try, but definitely loved the color I got in my December Birchbox MUCH better!

POP Beauty Bright Up Your Life Eye Shadow Trio in Naturally Bare – 3 shades – $7

I think I am getting overwhelmed with all of the eye-shadows I have been receiving.  I don’t know how people have done this for much longer then I have?!  This will be gifted.

016

Be a Bombshell The One Stick in Flustered – FULL SIZE – $16

NYX Lipstick in Ceto – FULL SIZE – $4

Both of these items just aren’t for me.  I’m not a lipstick person – and the red of The One Stick I can’t imagine even trying, these items will too be gifted.

The Verdict:

I just don’t think Ipsy is going to be a good box for me.  I may give it one more month, just to give it a chance, but honestly, the only thing I loved was the bag!  The rest of the items will go in as stocking stuffers.  While the products had high value (estimated $64 for $10 monthly fee), they just don’t fit into my goal of natural products.  I definitely notice that the boxes that contain at least some natural products (Birchbox sometimes) and my straight eco boxes (Daily Dose of Green and Eco Emi) are much more up my alley!  I have also been eyeing the Saffron Rouge Inner Circle which is more expensive at $25/month, but fits my personality much better!  here’s the blurb from them:

“Receive a beautiful package of deluxe samples from various leading and upcoming organic beauty brands from around the world.  These self indulgent little packages include premium samples and an informative letter describing each of your treats.  The best part is that you also receive a discount code to save on your favorite full sized versions from the package.”

Anyway, thinking if I let Ipsy and Beauty Box 5 go – that basically covers the cost for Saffron Rouge! 🙂

Leave a Reply

