Stitch Fix #2 (December 2013) Review


Sooo excited my Stitch Fix #2 arrived yesterday – what perfect timing since we were on our way out to a holiday party!  Therefore, I had something to wear!  Whoop!

THE PREVIEW:

dec box1 012

If I kept everything in my box, it would have cost me $225.  A little high for 5 items – but not too bad if I had loved them all.

THE COST:

$20 a month styling fee – then the cost of clothing (read more here).

THE GOODS:

Best part about Stitch Fix is the styling cards they send with each item – really helps inept people such as myself with how to wear said items!  Sorry I cut off the names a little…

dec box1 009

dec box1 004

First up was the Kensie Kormann Drape Front Open Cardigan – $78

Sorry for the lack of quality in the picture – may need to fire my camera man (Husband – LOL!)  Basically, this cardigan just didn’t lay right on me… Kind of hung out away from my body all weird.  Not that you can really tell… but anyway, based on the way it draped and the cost, back in the box it went!

Verdict = Sent Back

dec box1 003

Next up was the Zouk Giselli Chevron Print Sleeveless Dress – $58

The one thing I had requested when scheduling my December fix was a dress for my work holiday party.  When I first opened the box, I was a little disappointed that I only had one option, but it turned out it didn’t matter one bit as I LOVE this dress!!! I plan to wear as shown + tights and a cardigan (it’s freaking cold in MN)!

Verdict = Kept!!

dec box1 002

Next item was the Renee Walden Stripe & Colorblock Knit Shirt – $38

I didn’t mind this shirt – was actually pretty close to my style, I just didn’t love it.  If I hadn’t found anything else in my box to keep, I probably would have kept it just to not lose my styling fee, but just wasn’t in love.  P.S. I loved the price point of this item, but what do you do…

Verdict = Sent Back

dec box1 001

Next up was the 41 Hawthorn Filbert 3/4 Sleeve Popover Blouse – $58

I struggled with this blouse, I think it looked OK on – but I kept fidgeting with it.  I am of the mindset that clothes should be comfortable and for some reason this one just wasn’t jiving with me.

Verdict = Sent Back

dec box1 006

And last up – the Just Black Adora Skinny Jean – $88

Alright – so I tried these on, said, “holy crap these are tight and I feel pored into them.”  Took them off, and put them to the side.  Then I took a shower and started to get ready for a holiday part we had last night, and realized, hm… those jeans that I just got would look really good with some boots… so, the jeans came back out of the box, and they stayed on!  (p.s. Husband said they looked good on too, so bonus!)  Well played Stitch Fix on the timing of your box!

Verdict = Kept!

THE VERDICT:

Again, I’m loving this service!  The best part, I don’t have to go to the mall and shop for 4+ hours to find a dress to wear to my holiday part next week AND they saved me from the holiday party this week with the skinny jeans!  I will end up paying $126 for both the skinny jeans and dress (already paid the $20 styling fee).  IF I had loved the other three items in my box, they would have only cost me $99 more for 3 additional pieces!  I can’t wait until I get a fix where I love all items and can take advantage of the 25% off!!

I did like this month’s fix better then last – I feel like they are getting to know my style a little more!  Yes, I do pay more for clothing through Stitch Fix, but I DON’T HAVE TO SHOP FOR MYSELF!  Whoop!

Have you tried Stitch Fix yet?

Note:  This post contains referral links.

Leave a Reply

