October 2013 Conscious Box Review


Well here’s the review for the box that started it all!  Again – this was received pre-camera, so photos are from Conscious Box.

Now granted – you’ll have to use your imagination a little, but I was slightly disappointed with the presentation of the Conscious Box.  No description card entailing what everything was, no prices for full size products, and everything was just sort of thrown in the box (granted it had the tissue paper and whatnot – just wasn’t feeling the love).  That being said everything was described online, I suppose that is the “green” thing to do… but not even a note?  Com’on.

The Cost:

$19.95/month (with free shipping)

The Goods:

Clean Ethics Bottle Bright Water Bottle Cleaner

Clean Ethics Bottle Bright Water Bottle Cleaner – 1 tablet – $1

This was the only thing out of my box that was actually available for purchase on the website.  Kind of annoying.  Overall – OK, tried it on a coffee mug, it cleaned off some.  Husband used his PBW from his homebrewing equipment and got a LOT better results (cleaned the coffee residual right out of his mug).  PBW is also natural (it says on the can anyway).  Granted, this probably would have worked on a water bottle – but why not give it the ultimate test?!

Eat Green Tea 100% Organic Green Tea

Eat Green Tea 100% Organic Green Tea – 1 package – $0.75

Honestly haven’t tried yet – weirds me out a little that you sprinkle it over your food… eventually I’ll get over that and try it.  Not too concerned about not getting my review in as they are only 10 points (equivalent to $0.10 for Conscious Box) each.  We’ll see…

Allimax 100% Allicin Capsules

Allimax 100% Allicin Capsules – 2 capsules – $2

Gave these to Husband, he said he couldn’t stand his own breath (garlic smell); we threw the other out.  Ew.

The Honest Company Honest Shampoo + Body Wash

The Honest Company Honest Shampoo + Body Wash – $0.25 (I’m guessing – can’t remember the sample size, full size is 8.5 fl oz for $9.95 though)

Husband tried this too -he said it was OK; nothing special.  Would probably be great for kids.

Gnu Foods Fiber Love Bar

Gnu Foods Fiber Love Bar – $2

Husband also tried this (I’m getting the short end of the stick I think?!  Ha!)  He said it was AMAZING!  Might be on the lookout for more of these in the future.

Lotus Moon Vitamin B Hydrating Gel Facial Moisturizer

Lotus Moon Vitamin B Hydrating Gel Facial Moisturizer – $2 (guessing on price, can’t remember size, full size is $27.97 for 1.7 oz.)

Have to say I wasn’t a fan of the “gel lotion” – meh.  I ended up putting my regular lotion (Boots Botanics) over it.

FruitsMax Whole Food Supplement

FruitsMax Whole Food Supplement – 5 tablets – $3

Husband took these – said they were OK; nothing outstanding.  We aren’t big supplement people though.

CrumCreek Soy Bites Mini-Breadsticks

Crum Creek Soy Bites Mini-Breadsticks – Everything Flavor – $0.50

This was my FIND of the box!  These things were AMAZING!  We dipped them in a little olive oil from Greece and OMG!  I immediately went online and took advantage of their 50% off offer and ordered a box (yes you heard me a box) of these guys!  Can’t WAIT until they show up!

Acure Organics Cleansing Gel

I actually got the Acure Cleansing Face Scrub – $1 (guessing on price, can’t remember size, full size is $15 for 4 oz.)

Let’s just say I should have steered away as soon as I saw how gritty it was.  I have sensitive skin, it didn’t go well.

Goddess Garden Organics Tangerine Lavender Daily Lotion

Goddess Garden Organics Tangerine Lavender Daily Lotion – $1 (guessing – full size is $18.99 for 8 oz.)

I was excited for this product, but holy cats I did not enjoy.  Put on after getting out of the shower, it went on like sunscreen, and it started to burn.  I went back into the shower to just try to rinse off (it didn’t rinse well – which I guess is good for sunscreen), my legs burned for a few hours after that.  Not impressed.

Seventh Generation Natural Skin Serum and Body Lotion

Seventh Generation Natural Skin Serum and Body Lotion – $1 (guessing)

I wanted to love this product, I really did.  I use a couple Seventh Generation products that are my go to.  But honestly, the smell of the serum was completely off putting.  I threw the rest of the sample away.

LifeTree Citrus Fresh Dish Soap

LifeTree Citrus Fresh Dish Soap – $0.25 (guessing – $5.50 for 16 fl oz.)

I actually really enjoyed this sample.  The product cleaned well (as you’d expect) but didn’t leave a sudsy residue that I sometimes find my Seventh Generation soap doing.  I think I found my new go to for dish soap!

Good Boy Organics Organicasaurus

Good Boy Organics Organicasaurus – $1

I liked these, Husband didn’t.  Would be good for kiddos.  The dinosaurs were actual quite large!

Biobag Biodegradable, Compostable Dog Waste Bags

Biobag Biodegradable, Compostable Dog Waste Bags – $0.13

The curious thing I find here – is that you aren’t supposed to compost dog waste – so why a compostable dog waste bag?  huh.  Haven’t used yet – but when we do, it’ll go in the regular trash.

My estimated value is $15.88 for my October 2013 Conscious Box.  If I had paid full price ($20) – I would not be a very happy camper, as I believe I only enjoyed a few of the products they sent.  We’ll see how the next two months go (I think I paid $35/3 months with my $10 Groupon discount); but if it doesn’t get better, I’ll be off to find a different box!

How was your October 2013 Conscious Box?

Leave a Reply

